ASPREE is a 100% public-funded research project, awarded grants primarily from the U.S. and Australian governments.

The ASPREE project and sub-studies are made possible with funding and support from the following organisations:


  • NIH (National Institutes of Health) (USA) The mission of the NIH is the pursuit of fundamental knowledge about the nature and behaviour of living systems and the application of that knowledge to extend healthy life and reduce the burdens of illness and disability
  • NHMRC (National Health and Medical Research Council of Australia) The NHMRC is Australia’s peak body for supporting health and medical research; for developing health advice for the Australian community, health professionals and governments; and for providing advice on ethical behaviour in health care and in the conduct of health and medical research
  • NIA (National Institute on Aging) (USA) A branch of the NIH, the NIA leads a broad scientific effort to understand the nature of ageing and to extend the healthy, active years of life
  • NCI (National Cancer Institute) (USA) A branch of the NIH, the NCI is a principal agency that supports cancer research and training in the USA and internationally
  • NEI (National Eye Institute (USA) A branch of the NIH, the NEI is a principal agency supporting research into sight-saving treatments, reduces visual impairment and blindness, and improves the quality of life
  • VCA (Victorian Cancer Agency) (Australia) Funded by the Victorian Government, the VCA invests in projects and initiatives that rapidly translate research into treatments and approaches that will improve clinical practice and care of cancer patients
  • Monash University is an energetic and dynamic university, committed to quality education and research
  • CSIRO (Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation) is Australia’s national science agency and one of the largest and most diverse research agencies in the world
  • In-kind support by Bayer Pharma (Germany) through provision of study medication and matching placebo tablet for the duration of the ASPREE clinical trial
  • Walter Cottman Endowment Fund  has been established for the benefit of the Faculties of Medicine at Monash University and Melbourne University
  • The JO & JR Wicking Trust and Mason Foundation seek to achieve enduring, positive impact in the areas of vision impairment, care of the aged, problems associated with ageing and Alzheimer’s disease
  • Phyllis Connor Memorial Trust managed by Norman Bourke and Equity Trustees
  • The Jack Brockhoff Foundation exists to support the health and well-being of all Victorians
  • Deafness Foundation is dedicated to the support of the Deaf and hearing impaired through research, prevention, education, early detection and technology

Collaborating Organisations


  • Monash University, established in Melbourne in 1958, is Australia’s largest university, with a long history of excellence and impact in health sciences, with our research breakthroughs changing millions of lives for the better
  • The Menzies Institute for Medical Research (Tasmania) conducts innovative, world-class medical research to improve human health and well-being
  • Australian National University strives to advance the cause of learning and research in Australia and take its place amongst the great universities of the world
  • The University of Adelaide, established in 1874, is Australia’s third oldest university with a strong reputation for research and teaching excellence, and producing graduates that make an impact on the world ‒ Life Impact


Individual, Practice, Organisation and Agency Support


In addition to GPs, the ASPREE project team would like to acknowledge the assistance of medical practice staff, specialist health care providers, hospitals, pathology centres, ACAS, CDAMs clinics, aged care facilities, clinical quality registries and government departments, such as Coroners Courts and Births Deaths and Marriages across Australian states and territories, and the support of the AIHW and Services Australia, that help the study to achieve its objectives.


Other supporters of the ASPREE project include:

  • SWARH (South West Alliance of Rural Health)- is an alliance connecting public hospitals and associated health services across 60,000 square kms from the west of Melbourne to the South Australian border
  • RMIT– is a global university of technology and design and Australia’s largest tertiary institution. The University enjoys an international reputation for excellence in professional and vocational education and outcome-orientated research
  • IHMRI (Illawarra Health and Medical Research Institute) – is a joint initiative of the University of Wollongong and Illawarra Shoalhaven Local Health District. IHMRI provides research leadership, co-ordination, infrastructure, facilities and other support to more than 500 researchers in the area
  • The National Heart Foundation of Australia (NHF) letter of support for the ASPREE Clinical Trial
  • The Australian General Practice Network
  • Baker IDI Heart and Diabetes Institute Prof. Garry Jennings’ letter of support for the ASPREE Clinical Trial
  • Jean Hailes Foundation – JHF letter of support for ASPREE
  • The National Stroke Foundation
  • Dementia Australia
  • Australian Clinical Trials Alliance

Page updated: 1 March 2021


About usFunding and collaborators